Schaffer Grimm

TANMS Director of Industry Relations

Gregory Carman

Distinguished Professor,
UCLA Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Tsai-Tsai O-Lee

TANMS Administrative Director

Research Expertise Team Leads

Greg Carman

Distinguished Professor
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Department of Bioengineering

Focus: Nanoscale Multiferroic materials, piezoelectric materials, magnetostrictive materials, thin film deposition, thin film shape memory alloys, fiber optic sensors, electro-magneto-mechanical characterization, analytical and finite element modeling

Dino DiCarlo

Department of Bioengineering
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Focus: Exploiting unique physics, microenvironment control, and the potential for automation associated with miniaturized systems for applications in basic biology, medical diagnostics, and cellular engineering. Specifically:

1.       Quantitative cell biology and mechanics of cancer metastasis.

2.       Nonlinear microfluidics. 

3.       Microfluidic directed cellular evolution.

Tim Fisher

Professor and Department Chair
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Focus: Transport processes by electrons, phonons, photons, and fluids; applications in energy transport, conversion, and storage relevant to major industrial segments (aerospace, micro/nanoelectronics, sensors).

Nasr Ghoniem

Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Focus: Damage and Failure of Materials in Mechanical Design; Mechanics and Physics of Material Defects (point defects, dislocations, voids and cracks); Material Degradation in Severe Environments (e.g. Nuclear, Fusion, Rocket Engines, etc.); Plasma and Laser Processing; Materials Non-equilibrium, Pattern formation and Instability Phenomena; Radiation Interaction with Materials (neutrons, electrons, particles, laser & photons). 

Chang-Jin "CJ" Kim

Distinguished Professor and Vice Chair
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Department of Bioengineering

Focus: Microelectromechanical systems (MEMS), surface-tension-based actuation, nanotechnology for surface control, microdevices including microfluidic applications, superhydrophobic drag reduction, full spectrum of micromachining technologies.

Sarah Tolbert

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Focus: To create complex materials with nanoscale periodicity using self-organization, and to produce new physical properties because of that nanoscale architecture.

The specific properties vary dramatically from project to project and include control of optical, magnetic, electrical, and even structural behavior. In all cases, however, the goal is to intrinsically tie the physical properties to the nanoscale structure, and in so doing, to understand the new dimension of control that size and spatial confinement can bring. Specifically, two main methods to produce nanoperiodic structures are:

Ethan Wang

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Area Director, Physical and Wave Electronics

Focus: Smart antennas, RF and microwave power amplifiers, numerical techniques, DSP techniques for microwave systems, phased arrays, wireless and radar systems, electromagnetics.